标签:
非洲龙世界坦桑尼亚达累斯萨拉姆古城 |
古城Bagamoyo(之五)-The Catholic Church(天主教堂)
文/图 龙世界
建于19世纪,目前仍在使用的东非最古老的天主教堂。
塔楼侧面。
教堂侧门上部。
教堂后部。
主教Armand Maupoint从圣丹尼斯岛及马达加斯加东面的留尼旺斯岛派来传教士,于1868年7月17日开始建造这个天主教堂,并且开始从最低的民众阶层与奴隶制度进行斗争。
在神父Anthony Horner的带领下,传教士们开始赎回奴隶,并把他们安排在Bagamoyo北部一个基督教区的村庄。在这个村庄里,获得自由的奴隶们拿到了他们小学教育的学费以及职业的方面的培训,例如:木工、铁匠和农业种植。他们中的许多人成了基督教徒及基层传教士,并且到肯尼亚及坦噶尼喀的其它地区建立新的教区,继续同奴隶制度进行斗争。
今天的Bagamoyo天主教堂,依然有幼儿园,职业教育有:木工、电力工程、石匠及裁缝,有一个卫生所及一个女子寄宿中学。Majengo的郊区,最近刚刚建好了一个中心教区,成了第二个家。
这里除了继承前辈的宗教及教育的传统外,也是一个公开的博物馆,欢迎众多的访问者在请愿的时候,来了解Bagamoyo历史和这里的过去。
Bagamoyo天主教堂博物馆,前身是一座修女的房子。开放时间:上午10点至下午5点。
Sister's house(修女的房子)第一层建于1876年,第二层建于1896年,外围回廊建于1916。
这个天主教堂及博物馆修缮的非常不错。
博物馆内德国人1913年在坦噶印的第一份报纸。
博物馆内一只银的烟灰缸,很有特色。
博物馆内一件图案丰富的门。
这是树旁边,由修女们1868年建造的医院,现在依然是医院。
1872年的教堂塔楼,是东非海岸第一座教堂留下来的。
年代标示牌。
塔楼内景。
神父Anthony Horner的生平事迹。
Dr. David Livingstone生平事迹。
Old Father
House(神父的房子)正面,立有基督耶稣雕像,这是天主教的典型特点。
Old Father House后面,那棵椰子树由于有了房屋的庇护,长得又高又直。
第一屋建于1873,第二层建于1877,第三层1903。
古老的Bagamoyo,一座写满了历史的城。今天,我向它挥手告别。希望不久的将来,能再次探求它的神秘。
--完--
2008年1月3日于坦桑
相关博文:
4、古城Bagamoyo(之四)-Kaole Ruins(Kaole遗址).
5、古城Bagamoyo(之五)-The Catholic Church(天主教堂)
Honored by the Roman Catholic Church as the “Mother of
all Parishes in East Africa” the historic Catholic Parish of
Bagamoyo was a focal point both in the late 19th- century drive to
abolish the African slave trade and the European exploration of the
African interior, including the celebrated search for the source of
the Nile.
Spiritan
Many of them adopted Christianity and became lay
missionaries, traveling to Kenya and other parts of Tanganika to
establish new missions and parishes and to continue their fight
against slavery.Today's Catholic Parish of Bagamoyo also runs
Kindergartens, a vocational training school with departments for
carpentry, electrical engineering, masonry and tailoring, a health
center, and a
In addition to carrying on the religious and
educational traditions of their predecessors, the Parish today also
functions as an open-air museum that welcomes all visitors
while
Open every day from l0 a,m. to 5 p.m., points-of-
interest include:
- a Cross, erected on a nearby beach where Catholic missionaries in
1868 first set foot on the East African mainland;
- a Baobab tree on the mission grounds, planted that same year to
commemorate the Mission's founding;
- the 1872 church tower, the first to be built in East
Africa;
- the Old Fathers House, built during the years 1863 - 1903;
- the Sisters House, now the Parish Museum, completed in
1876;
- the "Grotto", a small chapel built by ex-slaves and completed in
1876;
- the Old Cemetery, which includes 47 tombs housing the remains of
early missionaries;
- the "new" Parish church, built from 1910 - 1915.
Catholic services are held on Sundays at 7 a.m., 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.
Conducted in native Kiswahili, all the services are accompanied by
some lively singing.